Three

20130502-224052.jpg

Surprise! A post before Gideon turned three months. I feel like I’m starting to get back into the swing of things. Today I made it to the grocery store, the bank, the kids’ doctor, the school, and the park. Then I made dinner which turned out so undeniably awful, I had to make dinner again. Afterwards I put the kids to bed and they were asleep before 9. All solo. Hurray me.

At the grocery store I ran into a friend who asked what I’ve been asked a lot lately, “So, three. How’s that going?”

Depending on the day, I have two replies.

On a good day – “It’s not four.” And I say a prayer of thanks to God for not giving me twins. I also try to take a mental note “Listen up self – four. FOUR. Do you realize how much F O U R is?” Then I start to think about all the people who do have four kids. Then I start to think about people who have more than that. Then I say a prayer for those people.

On a bad day, “It’s a lot like Jurassic Park.” By that I mean, I find myself in a struggle to contain the invincibly adaptable forces of chaos within natural systems. But Jurassic Park was pretty entertaining, while everything was falling apart and dying, and so I figure, at least this will make a good show.

Then I entertain myself by thinking of all the movie lines From Jurassic park, that are oddly applicable to my household. Here’s a sampling of a few :

(This is how we start pretty much every day when Aaron leaves for work and the kids freak out.)

Lex: He left us! He left us!

Dr. Grant: But that’s *not* what *I’m* gonna do.

(Aaron as Hammond, me as Sattler)

Hammond: When we have control again…

Sattler: You never had control, that’s the illusion! I was overwhelmed by the power of this place. But I made a mistake, too, I didn’t have enough respect for that power and it’s out now. The only thing that matters now are the people we love.

(This sums up Miri and my relationship)

Muldoon: “Clever Girl.”

Dr. Malcolm: Life will find a way.

This is the little saying I have in my head most often. And while, it’s often discouraging, natural life is really good at finding its way around artificial impediments (i.e. human nature vs. civilizing discipline) it’s hopeful. We’ll likely all live to see the next day. Life will find a way.

3 thoughts on “Three

  1. Michelle T

    I love how insightful and clever your commentary on your life right now is – I hope you don’t mind my saying how impressed I am that you can think and write so well with three kids – at the moment, I find myself struggling more often with finding just that one right word here and there….and I just have one 14.5 month old….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

