Two Week Page Count

Gideon was born two weeks ago. It’s funny how two weeks can seem so short and so very, very long. After just a few days, I can’t easily remember or imagine life without him.

20130303-194300.jpg

20130303-194315.jpg

20130303-194322.jpg

Life aside from Gideon is the same usual good crazy.

Reuben’s fingers and hands have started peeling for no clear reason. No, we have not recently changed soaps. Nobody knows what it is so I’m assuming leprosy. We did get to pet an armadillo at the zoo a few weeks ago…

20130303-194546.jpg

Miri has become a starship pilot.

20130303-194748.jpg

As for me, the best thing about having a new baby is the baby. But the second best thing is justifiably sitting and reading for hours at all hours while feeding the newborn. So far Gideon and I have enjoyed The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, The One World School House by Salman Kahn, and the Boneshaker by Cherie Priest. We are working our way through 2312, My Man Jeeves, Cutting for Stone and I’m indulgently rereading parts of Way of Kings. Reading while exhausted is awesome because really obvious plot points seem to come out of nowhere. Every change is a brilliant plot twist. I find myself thinking Whoa I didn’t see that coming! Then I think about it for a minute and realize it was pretty obvious. But it’s more fun this way.

5 thoughts on “Two Week Page Count

  1. Jennifer Meldau

    I remember falling asleep while nursing, I would nod off for a few minutes at a time. I am impressed you stay awake through all those nursing sessions to read!

    Reply
  2. Amy

    Thanks for the blog post!! I’ve been checking my google reader more often than usual hoping for a post from you! 🙂 I’m reading Book of Mormon Girl which has been an interesting memoir-styled book– I could send it up to you when I finish if you’d like. I used to watch LOST during night time feedings– it was scary enough to keep me awake… but then sometimes I couldn’t fall back asleep! (I’m a wimp when it comes to suspense) Happy Reading!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

