Great Nature

Growing up I was always told “You can’t beat nature, you have to work with it.” This was usually said by my concerned parents at times when I refused to wear a coat in winter or drink enough in summer. But as I’ve grown, I think of it is one of the truest things I know and I’m continually surprised at how radical a concept it is.

So here I am, enjoying the unknowable timing of nature. When I’ve given birth before I’ve been lucky enough to work with nature and have good outcomes. Don’t get me wrong, I know Nature is brutal. But it is also ancient and the millenniums have carved out routes and roads for us ephemeral creatures to follow.

20130129-091711.jpg

Roethke’s poem The Waking is in my head often these days. I was thinking about these lines when I was drawing

Great Nature has another thing to do
To you and me; so take the lively air,
And, lovely, learn by going where to go.

2 thoughts on “Great Nature

Leave a Reply

