We Go Together Like PB&J

Miri appeared at my bedside this morning with marching orders to make waffles together. Lucky for me, I had a hankering for a good waffle and we have a good go to recipe. This helped me not feel too bitter about the fact that both the guys are STILL sleeping in. If you know Reuben this is Bizarre, the kid is always up at 6, but he has the flu.

20130120-091547.jpg
So Miri and I mixed up waffles and they were delicious, crisp, and sweet enough to erase most of my Bitter jealousy. Sitting down at Miri’s little table for our waffle party, it felt nice to get some one on one time. Adding to the sweetness, M and I had the following exchange:

Me- Do you want milk with your waffle? I like drinking milk with my waffles.

Miriam- Yes! I like drinking milk with you Mom.

Normally this would make me laugh because construed a certain way it means Miri wants to eat me with her milk. But I’m 9 months pregnant and so instead I felt all warm and sentimental. Then I noticed M was eating her waffle with peanut butter and I was eating my waffle with jelly. We belonged together! Mmm mmm, Pass the schmaltz.

20130120-091721.jpg

Okay, Reuben is up and after looking at the waffle I made him is demanding cereal. Back to reality.

Waffles to Wake Up For

2 cups flour
1/2 tsp salt
2 Tbsp sugar
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 cups fruit yogurt. I prefer Greek
1+ cup milk but I eyeball it
2 eggs
4 Tbsp melted butter
LOTS of oil to spray the waffle pan so the outside is nice and fried 🙂

Mix the dry in one bowl. Mix the wet ingredients in another. Beat the eggs first til frothy then add the rest of the liquid. Mix everything together and then into the waffle iron.

3 thoughts on “We Go Together Like PB&J

  1. Celeste Cummings

    That sounds wonderful, especially the schmaltz. I love these pictures of Miri. Talk about being sentimental– this photo shows that she’s in big girl land now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

