Sweet Victory and Bitter Defeat

One of the benefits of living in a politically mixed household is no matter the outcome, there’s a winner. Unfortunately there’s always a loser too. This election was particularly tricky because our family stood to gain substantially with an outcome I didn’t really want, but did, but didn’t.
Whatever.

Waiting for results was seriously stressing me out, so I did what my mom always does when she’s stressed, I baked. I baked something tricky and time consuming and absolutely delicious. It felt great to Do something while the results trickled in.

Props to cousin Kari for the recipe for pain de raisin I don’t like raisins so I used dried cherries instead. They were perfect with the almond cream and light flaky sweet bread.

It helped us choke down the defeat and savor the victory of the results. Kind of.

20121107-102957.jpg

One thought on “Sweet Victory and Bitter Defeat

Leave a Reply

