A News Riddle

Every year September catches me off guard by how beautiful it is. It cools off but everything retains its high summer vigor. The night air chills enough to keep most of the mosquitos at bay. At this moment A and the kids are sitting on our little front porch watching the stars come out and listening to the crickets sing. It’s heavenly.

So here’s a bit of news in the form of a riddle. One of my favorite parts in The Hobbit is the riddling. I love Bilbo’s and Gollum’s riddle competition at the bottom of the mountain, and Bilbo’s riddles for the dragon Smaug. So I thought I’d share a little riddle with you:

I’m a riddle in nine syllables, 
An elephant, a ponderous house, 
A melon strolling on two tendrils. 
O red fruit, ivory, fine timbers! 
This loaf’s big with its yeasty rising. 
Money’s new-minted in this fat purse. 
I’m a means, a stage, a cow in calf. 
I’ve eaten a bag of green apples, 
Boarded the train there’s no getting off.    -Sylvia Plath

Can you solve the riddle? I think it’s a beautiful one and wonderfully descriptive.

Here’s a hint.

Here’s another hint that will make it way too easy to guess.

I won’t take away all the fun by telling you everything. Aaron’s family has a tradition of letting people guess if a baby will be a boy or a girl. I thought it’d be fun to let those who want to leave their guess as a comment. According to the tradition correct guesses win a candy bar. So guess away. We’ll reveal the gender in the next day or so.

Just so you know I made the drawing before I knew the gender so there are no hints in the sketch.

21 thoughts on “A News Riddle

  1. Sarah allred

    Yay! If your baby is half as cute as your drawing you are in luck. Fortunately you already have a great track record when it comes to cute babies. Good luck with the next few months! Oh, and I’m guessing boy.

    Reply
  2. Jenny

    Hurray! We are really happy for you guys. Hope you are feeling well! I am guessing boy. Either way I am going to treat myself to a candybar. 😉

    Reply
  3. Brittany

    I’m guessing boy….mostly because it seems like most people think it’s a girl, and that’s one less candy bar you have to get if they are all correct 🙂 So excited for you Katy! And the riddle parts of the Hobbit are my favorite as well. I’m sure Mark would want me to say congratulations from him too!

    Reply
  4. rosalie capener

    Congratulations to all….wonderful news! My guess is “girl”. Love to you, Katy, beautiful sketch, Your Oma xoxxoxoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

